The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


Cold Water, $1
June 1, 2009, 5:42 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dear Diary,

I was walking through Central Park today (unfortunately, I live too far to walk there so couldn’t bring the dog and large dogs aren’t allowed on the subway or buses) and there was a young guy selling water for $1. He didn’t look like the “regular” vendors and his cooler wasn’t one of those large red and white plastic ones the regular vendors tug but one of those small cloth ones that frat boys keep in the back of their car for beer picnics. There was also something odd about the way he was yelling out “cold water, one dollar!” He seemed a little embarrassed every time someone turned him down.

I have a feeling he was laid off or just graduated college or even law school and had his job offer revoked or just couldn’t get a job.

This market really sucks.

For everyone.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

That’s really sad.

Comment by Beesh

Agreed. I refuse to even allow myself to think about how long its been since I’ve worked, otherwise I’d just panic. Since Zach & Miri stole my go-to idea, maybe I should just take up stripping. Some days, as the rejections and the “thanks but no thanks” mount up (and oh yeah, the boy who broke up with me because he said I’m too stressed about my job-or no job-situation) that seems all I’m cut out for.

Comment by Alex

I saw this preppy grungy white dude playing the violin for donations on the A train like any panhandler…i was freaked out…you know things are bad.

Comment by unemployed08

yeah, I saw a girl that looked like she was in college or just graduated playing a flute with a stand and sheet music and everything in the subway station. She definitely did not look like one of the “regulars”. She looked like she was a liberal arts major hurting in this economy.

things are not good, my friends.

Comment by laidoffdiary




Leave a Reply

