The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


Peak this
May 21, 2009, 11:55 am
Filed under: Uncategorized


Dear Diary:

I read an article by The Snark regarding when you know you’ve hit your peak in your career and everything comes crashing down. Here’s a snippet (and you can click on it to take you to the actual article):

What makes a partner a rock star one day and unemployed the next? How could a sought-after law school recruit who was juggling competing six-figure offers just three short years ago be unable to find employment now? Is there some way to know your career has hit its peak? And can you avoid it?

The thing is, I always knew that my job at BigLaw was a dead end job. It seems like an odd thing to say when you’re making 6 figures and can’t online shop fast enough, but it really was a dead end job for me. Whenever I thought about my career, I felt like I was walking down a dark hallway or cave and was destined to walk down that hall way with no light in view. BigLaw was that dreadfully boring. but of course, I put one foot in front of the other because…why else? cold hard cash.

At any rate, the article ends with a quote by Vanilla Ice: “Will it ever stop? Yo, I don’t know . . .” —Vanilla Ice.

Which made me think about Robert Van Winkle’s apology years later for the hairdos, the baggie pants, the scandals, the lies, the gangs, the music…well, pretty much everything Vanilla Ice was.

I’d hate to have to apologize for the expensive suits, the expensive dinners, the long hours, neglecting my family, my significant other (of which I have none so this does not apply to me), my health, my fat dog, etc., and the pointless work of making rich people richer and junior associates cry (well, not me, I never made anyone cry. I even took my secretary out to lunch once a month. Maybe I had too much of this thing I hear is called a soul that sometimes makes people do good things, but I’m not totally sure. Which, side note, I’ve been getting into watching The Reaper about a guy who is supposedly the son of the devil (but tries to be a “good guy”) and has to catch escaped souls from Hell that wreak all sorts of havoc on earth. Yes, that’s the kind of humor I’m into and I’m proud of it.)

But at any rate, I’m glad that even though I’m getting acquainted with the dog poop on the sidewalk on the curb I’m sitting on after being unceremoniously kicked to said curb, at least I know that BigLaw was not the peak of my career and I don’t feel so bad.

–Haven’t hit my peak

p.s. yes, I purposely sign off with sexual innuendos whenever I can. and yes, that’s the kind of humor I’m into and I’m proud of it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

