The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


Slow
May 9, 2009, 8:59 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

gossiping to the man
office gossip

Dear Diary:

It must be slow. I have ex-coworkers at my old firm and friends who still have jobs at other firms calling me at all hours of the “work” day just to shoot the shit. They call me to gossip about above the law, or gossip about other lawyers, or what’s going on at the firm, or who’s laying off people…

It’s funny though, I don’t really care. I’m not “in it” any more that all this gossip and gibberish about BigLaw is starting to bore me. I can certainly empathize with my friends as it’s still their world and they’re still scared shitless and worried but I’m glad to be on the outside looking in. It’s still sorta kinda funny to me about how the man is screwing everyone, including people who used to be seen as the man (sorry, Jenner de-equitized partners), but I just don’t feel like checking Above The Law all the time or gossiping about what’s going on. I guess, I’m too busy doing my hobbies, hanging out, watching films, working out, etc.

It’s too bad that while I was in BigLaw, I couldn’t have found escape from all my worries in the same healthy ways instead of indulging in idle gossip and drinking until I was blind. Well, drinking is still fun and a favorite past time, but now when I do it, it’s not for an escape but for the pure enjoyment!

I do have to say, though, that most of my friends in other professions are also worried about their jobs but it isn’t to the same (sick) obsession BigLaw lawyers. Is it because of the high salary at risk? the type-A personalities of lawyers? the competitive and schadenfreude-indulging nature of lawyers? Who knows.

All I know is that work must be really slow for my friends and ex-co workers if they’re calling a laid off lawyer no longer in BigLaw to gossip to and just to have someone listen to them.

-Out

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

