The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


Wikipedia
April 15, 2009, 4:07 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dear Diary:

Now that I have time to do….everything, I’ve started wikipedia-ing every subject or person I’ve wanted to learn about or every term that I’ve seen but didn’t know what it meant.

I used to be really good about looking up terms in high school in the dictionary that I read in an article or book that I didn’t know.

Somehow, that stopped when I went to law school and legal gibberish was thrown at me. It definitely completely faded away while being a corporate attorney talking about “hurdle rates” or “waterfalls” and “PPMs” or “LOIs”. Nobody knows what we’re taking about and investopedia is a disappointment.

But now that I don’t have to talk about 10% of EBIDTA or baskets, I can start learning about people who actually made a difference, like Madeleine Albright or Che, or lead really interesting (and fun lives), like Pablo Escobar (heh).

For once, I’m actually learning rather than pushing paper around and churning out documents that keep recycling companies in business.

-wikipediaphile

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

