The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


Severance, My Savior
April 8, 2009, 3:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dear Diary:

I had an interview with a temp agency today. I think things are on the up. Even though it won’t lead to a career or a permanent job, at least it’s some extra spending money while I cruise on my severance (thank GOD for severance!).

On another note, I need to clarify: I drink because I’m a drunk, not because I was laid off.

I’m deciding where to spend part of my severance package. Apparently the thing to do is to go to South America because the euro is much too expensive. Any ideas on which South American country to go to? I wouldn’t mind staying in a hostel, hanging out with the locals, and meeting new and interesting people who don’t talk about whether it is pompous or required to leave the top button of your cuff on your custom tailor made wool suit unbuttoned to quietly show that 1) it was custom made so expensive and 2) you’re better than everyone else.

Yes, I leave the top button unbuttoned as a matter of practice but I will probably be running around with as little clothes as possible in S. America before it gets cold down there.

Again, did I say how awesome severance is?

-lovin’ my severance!

p.s. If I hear the fucking jingle for the Education Connection commercial again, I am going to headbutt  my television.

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Not that it’s in South America, but I’ve always wanted to go to Belize, mostly because they speak English there.

Comment by aj

costa rica

Comment by anon

Has anyone backpacked through S. America? Maybe I will head down there for 8 weeks. Thank goodness for the good conversion rate!

Comment by laidoffdiary

In all honesty, I think you should save your money, unless you’re only gonna spend a couple thousand.

Comment by anonymous

yeah, probably just a few grand because who knows where this monkey is going to get its next banana. this market sucks.

Comment by laidoffdiary

do you want beaches? you could do worse than rio. Want to surf? Go to costa rica, or you could try barbados – though obviously neither are in SA. There was a good article – i think in the nyt – about barbados surf schools – super cheap and friendly locals.

Brazil & Argentina will allow you to stretch your bucks.

Comment by anon




Leave a Reply

