The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


Wasting Time
April 5, 2009, 8:53 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dear Diary:

I finally get to do all the touristy stuff I didn’t to do while being a BigLaw slave, which is great, except I can’t stand tourists. Especially ones in NYC.

Today, I stood in line while a family of 11 tried to figure out how to swipe their metro cards to get into the subway. Since it’s Sunday, the other entrances were gated so I stoos there, in pain, while they tried to navigate swiping AND walking through turnsty. I wanted to claw my eyes out. Normally, I would be at my desk by 8am so I would miss these meandering and confused tourists. I would be able to walk on the left side of the escalator freely with all the other corporate primates in efficient and mechanical stride without these people chatting and pointing and standing in the WALK lane. If you cometo NYC and you want to park it on an escalator, stand on the right side! Same as in the airports on the walk ways. Why is it so difficult?

But then I realized- where the hell do I have to be except at the bar or friend’s house getting drunk? It seems like the more time I have, the more I run into things that waste my time. At first i was annoyed bc that’s any attorney’s first reaction to almost anything. But my secod reaction was to think that i should learn how to waste time and enjoy it because it’s a luxury few have.

When was the last time you wasted your time away without fear of any deadline or some fat asshole with perpeually bad breath who is only a midlevel or senior associate wanting to throw his excess weight around breathing down your neck? I’m going to waste my time and let these bumbling and confused tourists waste my time and ENJOY it dammit even if all my training at BigLaw has trained me otherwise in fear of losing precious billable seconds.

So, if you’ve been laid off , enjoy your time, every second of it even if you think you’re wasting it because for the first time in a long time, it’s your time and only your time ( and severance helps).

-wasting my time, godammit

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

