The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


I hate you airline
March 31, 2009, 10:53 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dear Diary:

I hate fucking airlines and the customer service reps who work for them, especially continental. I apologize in advance to anyone who might be reading with an inlaw or relative who works for one, but you guys fucking suck.

You’re like taxi drivers but for the air ways. You’re short tempered, loud, muffled, incoherent, and I’m sure if I could smell you, you probably smell like a mixture of B.O. and street cart food and you probably have a blue tooth headset for your cell on your ear when you’re talking to me.

Before when I had to call you to change a ticket, add miles, ask why you sucked, I would be pissed because you were taking valuable billable time or what little personal time I had away from me.

Now I realize that since getting laid off with all the time in the world, it’s because you guys just fucking suck. I’d rather go to the dentist and get a cavity drilled out than deal with you.

How many times do I have to repeat my confirmation number or my frequent flier number? Why don’t you understand when I say “A for APPLE”? Why is it when you read it back to me, the A turns into a Y or an 8? Who says 8 for apple?? What 4 year old would screw that up? Why do you insist on talking over me when I’m trying to answer an inane question you just asked me about something incomprehensibly irrelevant??

People say lawyers have bad attitudes and are impatient mainly because we think we’re smarter than everyone else or because our jobs make us miserable. That’s probably all very true, based on the miserable partners and associates I worked with that I wouldn’t change places with for a million bucks, but what is it about airline customer service reps that makes them so dumb/cranky/stubborn/rude? I rarely get my pizza order wrong when I call in for delivery and the person taking the order is usually okay, maybe not the happiest (but some seem pretty happy, probably because they peed in the pizza sauce they are about to serve me) people, but definitely not in the same class as customer service reps for airlines.

Time to cross off “airline customer service rep” off my list of potential careers after BigLaw.

-where’s my beer??

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Did you see that news story about that hedge fund manager making 750k per year? He’s now delivery pizzas.

Comment by anonymous

That’s pure awesomeness.

I guess I can keep pizza delivery on my list of careers after BigLaw. Or, I could deliver pizzas in rich neighborhoods but then tape my resume to the inside of the top of the pizza box. How’s that for more creative marketing?? Sigh.

Anyway, I googled the hedge fund guy and found the story for anybody else who might be interested:

http://abcnews.go.com/print?id=7111098

Comment by laidoffdiary




Leave a Reply

