The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


Creative Marketing
March 31, 2009, 3:20 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

Dear Diary:

Today, I sat around watching tv and saw alot of ridiculous personal injury attorney commercials. I can’t look down on them because the only pedestal I stand on is one of unemployment. Then I got to thinking, these guys are shitting in tall cotton and they think of all sorts of ways to market themselves: on the back of buses, in urinals, in dicey newspapers, in late night commercials with a rhyming motto, etc.

I’m a lawyer, why can’t I be squirly and wiley?

So I sat around and thought of ways I could market myself creatively.

I thought about going to Target, Bed Bath and Beyond, West Elm, Ikea, etc. and going to their photo frame section and replacing all the sample photos with one of my own with my name and number and “ATTORNEY FOR HIRE”. I could even make a copy of my diploma and slip it into the diploma frames with my name and number and my resume on the back.

I even thought about going to Tiffany’s and looking through their nice collection of business card holders and slipping in one of my business cards (the free ones I printed off of Vistaprint.com) with my name and number. I might get thrown out. I might not. And you know the people who are still shopping around for Tiffany’s business card holders got the dough.

If any of you do this, please make sure to comment here and let me know how that goes for ya. ha.

But then I just sat around and registered with temp contract attorney positions on the web.

I’m glad I went to a top law school and graduated at the top of my class and mucked through law review for this.

On the upside, I drank today.

–your drunk laid off buddy

6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey laid off, I followed the link from your comment at ATL. You should take on a blog name at least, so people can chat with you.

In any event, I absolutely hear you, man (or, um, girl). My family is constantly thinking that I’m some kind of Jedi because I became a lawyer. Super Debt Man!

Hang in there. Things will get better, but good luck fending off the bullshit in the meantime.

I wish you many beers.

Sean

Comment by Sean

What’s wrong with personal injury? John Edwards did it and made millions. Maybe you can do the same. It has to beat temp work, unless you really need the paycheck now.

Comment by anonymous

I feel your pain, seriously. Not even sure why I’m posting this since it is trite, but: your corp law job didn’t seem like your true calling anyway. So now you’ve got some time to figure out what you really want to do. Easier said than done, I know, but you’ve got to start somewhere.

Comment by not quite laid off

what did you drink to get drunk?

Comment by still here

the free bootcamp is in ATL. i totally agree that a subsidy of same should have been included in the same part of the stimulus bill that subsidized cobra 🙂

Comment by beesh

whatever is special during happy hour.

Comment by laidoffdiary




Leave a Reply

