The Laid Off Diary: Dear Diary…this sucks.


Still laid off
March 29, 2009, 9:31 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Dear Diary:

Yesterday, I forgot to mention that I uploaded my resume onto Monster.com and received spam for a sales position with an insurance company targeting the elderly. While I’d like to admit that I still have a soul after years of monkey slavery (some might call i t monklavery), I only have a small portion of what I started with and I’d like to keep what’s left.

I also applied for a job with Bloomberg to be a corporate law analyst and got an instant rejection letter this morning. It was instant rejection. like oatmeal. Just add water.

Isn’t the whole point of going to law school was not really to learn the law but to learn how to analyze the law? That’s all the bar exam is. It’s a practice in malpractice because nobody would shoot of a legal analysis by memory, but they are just testing to see if we can analyze issues and issue spot.

If I’m getting laid off as a corporate attorney and institutions aren’t finding me even worthy of analyzing what I was once paid to do, should I analyze how to put a bullet in a gun and shoot it from a clock tower?

mother fucker.

On the flip side, I went with my 20 year old cousin to pick up her new car. Apparently some people are still buying items in this recession. not me though. probably not you either if you’re reading this blog.

Sincerely,

Jobless

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

yeah, i’m kind of jealous of people who can still buy things. i’ve also started a blog to take up time during this period of laid-off-ness. mine is not funny like yours though πŸ™‚

Comment by beesh

response to comment at my blog – me too but it’s hard as hell. what is really cool is that this particular company is giving the bootcamp for free to laid off women attorneys πŸ™‚ otherwise, it obviously wouldn’t be in the cards right now. i get enough flack for keeping my gym membership.

Comment by beesh




Leave a Reply

